All Things Easy

Simple ways to make things simple

Simple Salmon February 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — allthingseasy @ 11:04 pm

I’ve noticed that a lot of people won’t make fish because they have never made it before & are afraid or apprehensive. Salmon is one of my very favorites, and this meal gets a whopping 5 stars from my husband. I make this once a week because he loves it so much!! AND it’s the perfect quick and easy meal for me!

I usually buy about a pound for the two of us…. if you’re not a huge eater that might be too much for two people. (My husband can consume a lot of food!) I go to the seafood counter at my local market & usually buy whatever type of salmon is on sale. It comes with the skin on, which is just fine because I’ll show you how easily it comes off once cooked!

First thing I do is get out a box of Rice a Roni’s long grain & wild rice. It’s amazing! I use my trusty Rival 6 cup rice cooker to make it perfect every time! (If you don’t have a rice cooker, you NEED one!) I start the rice right away before I do anything else because it takes about 25 minutes.

Next step is getting out the asparagus, cutting off the ends & placing it into a saucepan with some butter, a drizzle of olive oil and salt. I start cooking the asparagus about 5-7 minutes before the rest of the meal is done on medium high heat until it softens up but is not mushy.
After that I get out my salmon and place it on a cookie sheet covered in tin foil. Don’t bake it without the tin foil as the fish skin will stick terribly to the pan and it takes a long time to clean it off! Or course, I never made that mistake, I’ve just heard….. 😉
I use a lemon pepper and sprinkle it all over the fish. Not too much, but enough that you’ll be able to taste it. The grocery store has a variety of lemon pepper choices. I bake my salmon on 375 for about 15-20 minutes, depending on how thick the fish is. You’ll know it’s done when it’s turned a nice light color of pink and is flaky all the way through. Once finished, all you’ll have to do is cut portion size pieces and lift gently off the pan with a fork or spatula. The skin will be completely stuck to the tin foil, so the fish should come right off. The only thing left to do is eat! 

 

One Response to “Simple Salmon”

  1. Mmmmm I love Salmon.

    My hubby makes it on the grill for us — usually once or twice a month!

    I need to try that rice!


Leave a Reply

